Trying to reduce consumption of hair products: no ‘poo hair maintenance

So it has been a while. I have been trying to rest and relax over the holidays, and now I am trying to get back into the swing of things, along with many of you. For me, getting back into the swing of things means making some changes. One of those changes is trying to reset my diet, and another is trying to reduce the amount of hair products that I consume. I have been trying out natural ways to cleanse and condition my hair for years, and trying to save money more recently, but I have been serious about switching from industrially produced shampoo and conditioner for the past week or so. I made a switch to farmers market-bought soap several years ago, and it has been much better than the stuff I used to buy even at the expensive beauty counters for body wash and soap. After years of skeptical interest, I decided to take the plunge after the New Year rung in.

Thus, the experiment of using no shampoo has begun. I have been reading blogs about using baking soda to cleanse hair and apple cider vinegar for conditioner.

It began with my trying an old friend on my hair, olive oil. Olive oil has historically been one of the better products that I have been able to use on my hair and skin. However, this time it wasn’t as successful, possibly because the brand wasn’t right, the time of the year was different, or whathaveyou. I then went to the grocery store and picked up some baking soda, or sodium bicarbonate, and apple cider vinegar.  The challenge was on.

On Day 1, I used too much water in my mixtures, and the result wasn’t pretty. I couldn’t even get a comb through my hair without difficulty, so I decided to apply some 100% natural argan oil to help me with brushing. I put way too much argan oil in, and therefore my dried hair looked wet.

On Day 2, I followed the ratio advice a little bit more closely and left the baking soda and the apple cider vinegar mixtures in for a couple of minutes each. This was better, and it left my hair feeling better and cleaner. However, I still used too much argan oil.

On Day 3, I followed the ratio again, and this was much better for my hair. Instead of using a palm full of argan oil, I used a couple of pumps from the bottle, and my hair didn’t look as wet even after it was dried. I need to figure out how much argan oil to use, or whether I should put a couple of drops into the apple cider vinegar mixture, or whether I should use a black tea rinse to condition as well instead of just the apple cider vinegar/argan oil method.

I will continue this quest for as long as I can! When my hair is actually presentable, I will post a picture here.

Leave a Reply

